top of page

About Us

The Idaho Midwifery Council (IMC) was formed in the summer of 1980 and continues to function as a voluntary professional organization, representing midwives across the State of Idaho.  The IMC supports and promotes the option of community birth for families in Idaho. It facilitates education and community amongst midwives through conferences and workshops. The IMC advocates for the midwifery profession, offering legislative support in maintaining and updating the rules and regulations of direct-entry midwifery in Idaho.  Our organization is open not only to midwives, but also to all who have any interest in midwifery, whether midwife, apprentice, student, consumer and/or supporter of midwifery.  As we network together, we endeavor to encourage each other to uphold the highest and safest standard of maternity care.  

Our Purpose

To promote competent midwifery practice as a quality health care option in Idaho
To provide midwives with opportunities for training and continuing education
To promote communication between Idaho midwives
To promote communication and cooperation between midwives and other professional and nonprofessional groups concerned with improving perinatal outcomes
To work to assure safe, quality childbirth practices, regardless of the birth setting chosen by parents

Board members
R2 Vivi .jpg
Elected 2021 (3 year term)

ViviAnne Fischer

Appointed 2024 (2 year term)

Sarah McBride

IMG_2451 (2).JPG
Region 2 Representative
Appointed 2021 (1 year term)

Ivy Warwick

Barb Rawlings.png
Advisory Board Member & Nominations/Elections Chair

Barbara Rawlings

Barb Rawlings.png
Outgoing President

Barb Rawlings

Appointed 2021 (1 year term)

Tammy Desjardins

Region 3 Representative
Appointed 2022 (2 year term)

Sarah McBride

Vice President
Appointed 2021 (1 year term)

Lori Sabin

Region 1 Representative
Appointed 2022 (1 year term)

Krysta Freed

Tricia Sutherland.jpg
Region 4 Representative
Appointed 2024 (3 year term)

Patricia Sutherland

IMC Non-Board Positions

Legislative Liaison

Barbara Rawlings

Newsletter Editor

Pam Roper

Membership Chair

Lori Sabin, LM, CPM

QIC Chair

Kim Palmer


Katy Rawlins 

Student Representative

Lisa Walters 

bottom of page